Hunger Games recipes: Lamb and dried plum stew

I’ve been waiting for the right occasion to make this, and a little over a week ago I was having a party, and thought it would be the perfect time. Now, although I have found a recipe for this from The Unofficial Hunger Games Recipe book, I was like, forget that, I’ll make up my own! Because that’s how I roll. I freestyle it, as my friend Luke says. I’m sure you could really say that I don’t like to follow recipes because I have problems with authority or some other psychobable bullocks. A few days ago, I made it again, trying to perfect my own recipe.

Anyway, here’s the amazingness!

For those of you who are cheap like me, you’ll just buy stew beef. It works just as well as lamb in this case. You’ll need a crockpot/slow cooker. The flavors will all mix and mingle this way, and the meat will tenderize to the point where it nearly melts in your mouth.

On a side note, this is the gluten-free, dairy-free version.

Start putting things into the crockpot:

1 can beef broth
1 can veggie broth (or a 2nd can beef broth if you want)
about as much water as broth (which is 2 canfulls basically)
1/2 cup cooking sherry
4 carrots, sliced
2 potatoes, peeled and cut up into chunks
1/3 onion, caramelized. (sliced up into long thin strips, then cooked in a skillet in oil on low heat, then add some sugar once the onions are soft and let them just start to get a little brown on the edges)
1 stick celery, sliced (optional)
1 lb stew beef/lamb, cut up into bite size pieces
spices to taste: 2 bay leaves, garlic, salt, paprika, pepper, chives, red curry powder (my favorite) and any other spices you really want to add.
3 T worchestershire sauce (to give it some kick)

At this point, the stew will have a rich, hearty, salty sort of flavor. This is good. Let it cook for about 2 hours, then add in:
1 package of dried plums (which are really prunes)
a handful of golden raisins (optional, but they’re good in it)
4 T cornstarch

Let that cook for another 4ish hours. The dried plums will significantly sweeten the taste. Stir it occasionally so that you don’t have things stuck to the sides of the crockpot. If you want it to be less sweet, just add a little more salt later on in the cooking process, to taste.

Cook up some rice, then put that in the bottom of your bowl before ladling on the stew (which will have thickened thanks to that cornstarch). Et voila, mes amis! Bon appetite!

One thought on “Hunger Games recipes: Lamb and dried plum stew

Leave a Reply

