The Perks of Being a Wallflower, film review

I’m at a loss of words on this one.

There’s  line in the film, “how can you be so happy and so sad all at once?” (I may be off on a few words, but that’s the line) that sums up almost the entire film, and how it makes you feel while watching it. The absolute beauty of everything, both the good and the bad, leaves you feeling both emotions quite fully. I wanted to cry for most of the film, and I was never sure if it would have been out of sadness or joy.

This is a coming of age film, where the people are the stars, not the story. Character-driven, as some former profs would define it. I think the most beautiful part of the film is that the people are all so hurt, with secrets, with pasts that forever impact our present.

The acting is amazing, and I was especially impressed with Logan Lerman’s acting. The way he handled things, the way you could watch him try to forget the bad things in life while they were in the midst of happening, pretend everything was okay when really nothing was… from someone with a mental illness, he captured it well. The moments where he just breaks down, the way all that was written and the way he brought that to life, is what it feels like.

Now, while most people will relate alright with the character of Charlie (Logan Lerman), I think very few will fully identify with him. Where I am in life, however, being in his shoes was as easy as breathing, and that may be why I’m having a hard time actually reviewing the film rather than being like “just go see it because you need to see this film.” That is exactly how I feel. Just go see it.

Now, are some of the characters exceptionally odd in an almost cliche way? Yeah. It’s like in the group of misfits, they wanted to have every kind of misfit. From a social perspective, that really doesn’t happen often. However, most of the main cast had fully developed characters and backgrounds. They made sense in a psychological way.

I really don’t even know what to say other than it’s such a beautiful film full of truths about us as humans. Full of pain and joy and broken people that in their brokenness are at their most beautiful.
Just go see it.

“We accept the love we think we deserve.”

One thought on “The Perks of Being a Wallflower, film review

  1. I keep hearing great things about this one, I had written it off thinking it didn’t look all that worthwhile but I now think I’m going to have to make sure I see it at some point. Nice review 🙂

Leave a Reply

