born with magic

Colin Morgan as Merlin in the BBC show. 8in x 8in watercolors

Colin Morgan as Merlin in the BBC show.
8in x 8in watercolors

 

Venturing into watercolor work has been rather terrifying in a strange way; things are going really well, which means I constantly expect things to go very wrong. When this turned out as well as it did, I thought it must have been a fluke, so I said, why not do tons more watercolor paintings and on a larger scale?

I have yet to ruin a piece. I suppose when I swore of watercolors at a young age, I was missing out. However, what watercolors you use makes a huge difference. I put together a palette of Holbein, Koi, M. Graham, and Blick tube watercolors, that I let dry out and re-wet as needed. I love them. Completely different from the Dr. Ph. Martin liquid watercolors that I have, which really are more like inks, and honestly, I like this new arrangement better.

More watercolor work to come!

One thought on “born with magic

Leave a Reply

